Monet, Mon Amour

I understand art with my heart. In that sense, it’s a very basic connect – a connect I prefer keeping basal so that it doesn’t get colored by lenses of too informed an opinion. (Sly side note: I often lament that degree in art history I do not have).

Claude Monet (French, 1840-1926),  appeals to my heart. And from the little tinkering I do with paints & brushes, I realise what an immensely gifted, talented painter he was. I would, if I could, which I can’t, buy each and every one of his paintings to gawk at for the rest of my life.

Of course since he is the big daddy of Impressionism, his works are best understood, deciphered, appreciated from a distance, from different perspectives – moving from one side of the canvas to the other slowly, as I do often.

What I have here are a few of Monet’s canvases I have had the pleasure of viewing *and* photographing. Many permanent & temporary exhibits of his works do not allow photography sadly. Many such canvases not featured here, for example The Japanese Garden collection, are gems that make my breath hitch.

Any way, I hope you enjoy viewing these pictures half as much as I enjoyed studying, photographing and putting them up here. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

[Note on Monet’s famed Water Lilies ]As a part of his extensive gardening plans at Giverny, Monet had a pond dug and planted with lilies in 1893. He painted the subject in 1899, and thereafter it dominated his art.
He worked continuously for more than 20 years on a large-scale decorative series, attempting to capture every observation, impression and reflection of the flowers and water. By mid-1910s Monet had achived a completely new, fluid and somewhat audacious style of painting in which the water -lily pond became the point of departure for an almost abstract art.
Leave a Reply

